Language /zhtw/zh

Map of Japan

Regions and Prefectures

Kanto Region

Kanto (関東) Region is a region around Tokyo.
Prefectures: Tokyo, Kanagawa, Saitama, Chiba, Ibaraki, Tochigi and Gunma.
It is the most populated region of Japan because of Tokyo. One third of Japanese lives in Kanto. Kanto is a huge plain field surrounded by mountains, and on the mountain side, there are many beautiful nature and Onsen.

Chubu Region

Chubu (中部) Region is the center of Japan.
Prefectures: Niigata, Toyama, Ishikawa, Fukui, Yamanashi, Nagano, Shizuoka, Aichi, and Gifu.
Prefectures facing to the Sea of Japan is also called Hokuriku, and to the pacific ocean side is called Tokai. Nagoya is the biggest city in Chubu and Mt. Fuji is located in this region. There are many high mountains with beautiful nature, especially Japanese Alpine.

Kinki Region

Kinki (近畿) Region, or Kansai (関西), is in middle west of Japan.
Prefectures: Osaka, Kyoto, Shiga, Mie, Hyogo, Nara, and Wakayama.
Kyoto is the main feature of this region, and there are many historic sites in this region because this area was the center of Japan until the Edo Period. Osaka and Kobe is the biggest cities in this area. Also, many cultures are born or related in this area.

Tohoku Region

Tohoku (東北) Region, or Oou(奥羽), is northern side of Honshu.
Prefectures: Aomori, Iwate, Miyagi, Akita, Yamagata, and Fukushima.
Tohoku has the great nature spots because most of the areas are mountains, especially Shirakami Mountains are UNESCO World Heritage Site. Lots of waterfalls and beautiful forests are in Tohoku. Sendai is the biggest city in Tohoku Region.

Chugoku/Shikoku Region

Chugoku (中国) Region is a region located far-east end of Honshu Island.
Prefectures : Okayama, Hiroshima, Tottori, Shimane and Yamaguchi.
Chugoku Region is divided into 2 area: Sanyo and Sanin.
Sanyo is the area facing Seto Inland Sea, characterized with very warm and steady weather. Sanin is the area facing to Sea of Japan, known to be a heavily snowy area in winter.

Shikoku (四国) Region is an island of Shikoku.
Prefectures :Kagawa, Tokushima, Kochi and Ehime.
Shikoku is a large island located in western Japan. The weather is very warm. There are 88 famous temples and shrines.

Kyushu Region

Kyushu(九州) Region is the large island located west side of Honshu island. This region also includes Okinawa Islands.
Prefectures : Fukuoka, Kumamoto, Kagoshima, Nagasaki, Oita, Saga, Miyazaki and Okinawa.
Kyushu has many active volcanoes, therefore many great Onsen, such as Yufuin and Beppu. It is surrounded by Sea of Japan, Pacific Ocean, Chinese Sea and Seto Inland Sea. Mt. Aso which is located in the center of Kyushu is one of the largest caldera mountain. Okinawa is located south west of Kyushu. It is the tropical islands of Japan.

  Copyright © 2007-2010 all rights reserved.